Basic page

Cyprus Villages list

You can find all the villages located in the various cities, in the different lists below:

  • Famagusta Villages List
  • Kyrenia Villages List
  • Larnaca Villages List
  • Limassol Villages List
  • Nicosia Villages List
  • Paphos Villages List

Green Monday in Cyprus

Green Monday also known as Clean Monday (Καθαρά Δευτέρα) is the first day of lent. Lent is a fasting period of 40 days until Easter which replicates the 40 days in which Moses was in the desert.


Tsiknopempti (Τσικνοπέμπτη in Greek) is the celebration of the Orthodox tradition in which great quantities of meat are consumed. Tsikna means the smell of grilled meat and Pempti means Thursday (Πέμπτη in Greek). This day is also called Charred, Fat ,Smoky or Barbeque Thursday due to the large amount of meat that is cooked all over Cyprus and Greece.

Famagusta Villages List

The Famagusta district is one of the 6 districts and it is the second largest district on the island with an extent of 1985 square kilometres. It borders with the Kyrenia, Nicosia and Larnaca districts to the west, while the north and east and south parts are seaside.

Larnaca Villages List

The Larnaca district is one of the 6 districts in Cyprus and is the fifth largest on the island. It has an extent of 1120 square kilometres. Larnaca is then divided into 6 municipalities and 53 communities/villages.

The municipalities are: Aradippou, Athienou, Drimolaxia – Meneou, Larnaca, Livadia  and Pano Lefkara. A list with all the communities/villages of Larnaca can be found on the table below.

Nicosia Villages List

The Nicosia district is one of the 6 districts and it is the largest on the island. It has an extent of 2710 square kilometres forming the 29,32 % of the island. Nicosia is then divided into twelve municipalities (The Morphou and Kythrea Municipalities are under occupation) and 162 communities (39 of these communitites are under occupation).