Larnaca is a district in the southeast coast of Cyprus. It is the successor town of ancient Kition one of the most important kingdoms in ancient Cyprus. It is also the birthplace of the well-known ancient philosopher Zinona.

The Larnaca district is one of the 6 districts in Cyprus and is the fifth largest on the island. It has an extent of 1120 square kilometres. Larnaca is then divided into 6 municipalities and 53 communities/villages. The municipalities are: Aradippou, Athienou, Dromolaxia – Meneou, Larnaca, Livadia and Pano Lefkara.

Larnaca borders to the east with Famagusta, to the north with Nicosia and to the west with Limassol. A small part of the district was occupied by the Turks during the 1974 war and is now considered to be a part of the occupied Nicosia capitol.

To the north the Larnaca area extends until the village of Athienou , to the east until the village of Odou , to the south until Mari and to the east until Xylofagou. The Larnaca district has coastal villages that extend along its south and east coasts, as well as mountainous terrain to its west.

Each of the 53 villages has its own unique beauty and attraction. There are many attractions in the villages ranging from churches, museums, culture attractions and nature attractions. The many churches, chapels, monasteries in all of the villages also show how religious the residents are. The museums along with other cultural buildings help preserve the culture and the customs that each village has.

Each village has traditional restaurants and shops that can offer you with the local cuisine as well as the local products that it produces (sweets, bread, and drinks) and the Cypriot hospitality.

Whether you are interested in the coastal villages with beautiful sandy beaches and clear blue waters, archaeological sites or mountainous villages with traditional architecture and embroidery, Larnaca will accommodate all tastes.

To view the list of all the Larnaca Villages refer to the Larnaca Villages List.









Larnaca villages map

Cyprus villages - Larnaca district

Kato Drys

Kato Drys village is located to the southwest of the town of Larnaca and it borders with the villages Pano Lefkara (4 kilometres),...


Kofinou is a village situated in the Larnaca district. It was previously divided into Upper and Lower Kofinou. It is located 24 kilometre...


Lefkara is a province in the Larnaca district and an independent municipality of Cyprus. It is one of the 6 municipalities of the Larnaca di...

Mari Village

History The village Mari is located 39 kilometres southwest of the town of Larnaca. It is built at an average altitude of 80 meters. To ...


The village Maroni is located at the southern part of Cyprus. It belongs to the district of Larnaca. It has about 800 residents who deal wit...


Mazotos is a village in the Larnaca district and is located at a distance of about 20 kilometres southwest of the Larnaca district. The v...


Ormideia is a community at the southeast part of Cyprus and is located in the district of Larnaca. It has a population of about 3.960 r...

Oroklini Village

Oroklini is situated eight kilometres northeast of the Larnaca district and it is also called as Voroklini. The village is loacated at a ...

Paliometocho Village

Paliometocho is a large Greek village in the Larnaca district about 20 kilometres southwest of the city of Nicosia. According to the inve...